Author Topic: Distal Bicep Tear  (Read 1376 times)

Offline metroBC

• Newbie Plus
Distal Bicep Tear
« on: August 23, 2011, 07:55:57 AM »
I'm new here, but have gotten a lot of good advice just reading the old posts.  I injured by right (dominant) distal bicep on August 7, 2011.  I heard a distinct tearing along with severe pain.  No real swelling or bruising and the bicep is not noticeably rolled up.  Visited by doctor the following day, still in severe pain and he said to ice and rest it for 7-10 days.  At 12 days I went to see the Ortho Doc and after 30 seconds of examination, he said I have a high grade tear and will need surgery to repair it.  He also said I could try to rehab it without surgery, but I am a firefighter and will need to have full function, so he recommended repairing it.  I am waiting for the MRI to be scheduled, should be this week to see the real extent of the injury.  I am now about 16 days post injury and still have severe pain, especially in the morning. I am taking Celebrex, so that may be helping the pain somewhat.  The joint is very weak upon flexion and supination.  If any of you experts can read into what I already know and offer some advice, I would appreciate it.  I will update when I get the MRI results.  BTW:  I am 43 years old and in good health with no previous health problems.  Thanks in advance for your advice.

Offline MarkJF

Re: Distal Bicep Tear
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2011, 09:07:06 AM »
Good luck Metro.

Sooner the better, push people for the MRI and then for surgery, it is a time sensitive injury. I had MRI 2 days post injury, assessment with the surgeon at 9 days and then the op on day 11. Because I was due to fly out on holiday, he cancelled his day off to operate on me as within 14 days post injury he was very confident of there being no complications.

Like you, I had a lot of pain post injury, but if it's any consolation, I've had zero pain/discomfort post op.
  • Repair Method: Suture Anchor